Sagmeister

How do you teach type design?

I never taught a pure type class, as type is always just one part of the whole of a class project. For good type, the same is true as for any other design element: It is good if it touches me. Type can do this in many ways: either by its fantastic content, its unbelievable form, its unusual execution, its incredible style, by reminding me of some important events of my past, by making me want to revisit it, or by showing me that its maker needed courage to produce it.

[Extract from The Education of a Typographer]

Quoting Stefan Sagmeister

Everything i do always comes back to me. > Trying to look good limits my life. > Everybody thinks they are right. > Money does not make me happy. > Thinking life will be better in the future is stupid, I have to live now. > Complaining is silly. act or forget. > Having guts always works out for me.

Links to Sagmeister

Visiting Stefan Sagmeister, Tips for Students, TypeRadio. How Good is Good? Non-stereo. Video by Hillman Curtis. Sagmeister Inc.

3 thoughts on “Sagmeister

Add yours

Geef een reactie

Omhoog ↑

